Victorious

I am a Baylor student and a passionate fan of my Bears. Currently, we are smack dab in the middle of March Madness as both men’s and women’s teams have advanced to the Sweet Sixteen.  The guys tip off in hours, yet I am anxiously pacing until the ball is thrown up in the air for Perry to tip.  I do not know what the outcome will be and I cannot control it.  I have studied the stats and analyzed what I have seen of Xavier, but that does nothing for forty minutes on the hardwood.  The fact that I am extremely competitive does not help me wait for the outcome either. People say to play for the fun of the game. For me, it is only fun when you win.

As I was watching Sportscenter with my basketball in hand earlier this afternoon, I was reminded of a famous verse that has been taken out of context.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. – Philippians 4:13

We take that verse to mean that Perry will score 31 points again, Brady will hit nine threes and Quincy Acy will dunk over everybody because Jesus gives them strength.  This verse means that we can be content with anything because God has put us where we are.  We have Christ, so we can do what He wants us to do.

Victory, however, is in our future.  Maybe not against Kentucky in the Elite Eight to advance to the Final Four and wreck shop in New Orleans (although I hope we do.)  Revelation 19:11-19 talks of the battle.  The heavens open up and a rider called Faithful and True emerges on a white horse. White is most often seen as the color for purity.  It also symbolizes victory. Man, verse 12 describes the rider, and you would pick him over Michael Jordan in a pick up basketball game in the early nineties. He is clothed in a robe dipped in blood. Back in Luke 8, Jesus is on his way to heal a man’s daughter and is walking through a crowded street. There is a woman who had a discharge of blood for twelve years, and no one could make it stop. She went up behind Jesus and touched the fringe of his robe and was immediately healed. Her faith made her well. As the white horse advances with Jesus, an army appears, also dressed in white atop horses of the same color. Who are they? They are the children of God…aka those of us who are Christians. What’s up?! Jesus does not need us to go whoop up on Satan yet He allows us to be in His army and go with him. Later in chapter twenty, the defeat of Satan is described. Not the possible defeat but the imminent defeat.

Knowing that I don’t have to anxiously walk around daily about whether or not I’m going to heaven or not, I am confident that I am His and that He will lead me to victory. So, after this game is over, I can watch it again with confidence because I will know the outcome.

Leave a Reply

