Image

I woke up this morning to the sun streaming through my window, my Bears and Lady Bears in the Elite Eight and a packed suitcase ready for a long bus trip to Des Moines. After grabbing coffee I was getting ready for the day when the song “What Love is This?” by Kari Jobe came on my iTunes.

What love is this that You gave Your life for me and made a way for me to know You? And I confess You’re always enough for me. You’re all I need.

That chorus brought an overwhelming sense of satisfaction in my Savior.

I decided to listen to the Breakaway podcast from last week titled Attraction that covered the first two chapters of Song of Solomon. Ben Stuart pointed out that we the readers know nothing about the appearance of this couple. However, we do know their character.

Getting ready to go to Des Moines, I was going through my closet looking for something to wear to cover the game. ESPN is there, and I want to make a positive impression to land some connections for a potential job in a year. After I narrowed the selection down to two, I walked in my bathroom and looked in the mirror. Dissatisfaction set it. I began to compare myself to the reporters I watch on television, always coming up with the short stick of the bunch. Normally, I’m not like that. At the camp I work at in the summers I talk with girls about their appearances but this time it seemed different.

Song of Solomon is full of metaphors that have both confused me and weirded me out. Stuart broke down the imagery and pointed out the words of the woman in verse five:

I am very dark, but lovely, O daughters of Jerusalem, like the tents of Kedar, like the curtains of Solomon. Do not gave at me because I am dark, because the sun has looked upon me. 

In that culture, the men found the exotic attractive. Think of the movie Mulan. When she is taken to the Matchmaker, she is robed, and her face is painted chalk white. Why? To distinguish herself from the women who were tan from working out in the fields. What the woman is saying in this passage is that she is dark from working out in the field, but even though that is not ideal, she knows she is lovely. This woman’s self image is right on! She trusts who God made her. She is secure in herself and trusts God with her life.

Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

Proverbs 31 describes the ideal woman. In the original order, Proverbs was followed by Ruth and Song of Solomon was after that.

Love God and look like it.

That stood out towards the end of the message. I should not be so caught up in my outward appearance. It will fade away. But my relationship with my Savior will continue to grow stronger and stronger, and that is what is most important.

If God blesses me with a job of reporting from the sidelines on television, I don’t want people to notice me because of my appearance. I want them to see Jesus in me.

Leave a Reply

