Wait

I am a hot mess when it comes to being patient.  Earlier this afternoon I stepped off a charter bus in Des Moines, Iowa, that I rode for sixteen hours. And I couldn’t sleep. Imagine cruising through Oklahoma and Kansas at night…

Anyways, grumpy would be an understatement.  Waiting is definitely not a strength of mine, but that should not be used as an excuse. In the wee hours of the morning, I switch my iPod over to Jillian Edwards and Bethany Dillon because their voices are soothing and make me sleepy.  Bethany Dillon recently released an EP with a song entitled “To Those Who Wait.” Funny, Jesus. You would make sure this played.

 

I am waiting on You

I’m waiting on You

You say You’re good to those who wait

My heart’s discouraged so I come to You expectant

You say You’re good to those who wait

 

Lord today You know what I need to do

But You could do more in my waiting than in my doing I could do

So I won’t run anymore

I’m waiting on You

 

O wretched man that I am

Free me from my distractions

You say You’re good to those who wait

Then confession and repentance

Find me in the quiet

You say You’re good to those who wait

 

O my soul wait on the Lord

Keep your lamp filled with oil

O my soul be not deceived

Wait for Him

Don’t be quick to leave

 

This reminds me of Sarai in Genesis 16. God promised her husband Abram that he would be the father of many nations, yet she was old and had not born any children.  So, she had her husband sleep with her slave, Hagar. Hagar became pregnant and gave birth to a son, Ishmael. Sarah later sent Hagar and Ishmael away because she was jealous (Genesis 21.) Basically, if Sarah were to have waited on the Lord, Ishmael would have never been born, and we would not have another religion. Yet she thought she could fix the problem herself.

 

I do that a lot. I am very independent and I want to do things myself. But it is not bad to ask for help, something I ignore.  In the most recent Narnia movie, Eustace puts on a golden bracelet and becomes a dragon. He can’t fit on the boat anymore and the things he could do as a human weren’t as easy as a dragon.  He ends up by himself scratching at his scales trying to get them off. Then, Aslan shows up and rips off the skin.  Duh, that hurts. But the skin came off. No matter how hard Eustace tried, he needed Aslan to help him.

 

God will use our weaknesses to show his strength to the nations.  We should not become impatient when He does not help us right when we want Him to.  His timing is perfect.

 

But those who wait on the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.  Isaiah 40:31

Leave a Reply

