Conversation

After a long bus trip, I am home from Des Moines.  The bus I rode on was full of season ticket holders who love their Lady Bears more than anything.  It was funny because we received free t-shirts when we got to the hotel. As a college student I love free shirts, but these super fans were a little disappointed because they had their game wardrobe picked out already. This morning when we boarded the bus to return to Waco, most everybody grabbed at least two newspapers to read about Baylor from the night before, and the Lady Bears were the topic of discussion the entire trip.

Their enthusiasm for Baylor made me think about my enthusiasm about my Savior. Yes I love Him and He is first in my life and I am satisfied in Him, so why don’t I talk about Him more often? Why do I not eagerly grab my Bible in the morning (with multiple cups of coffee) to see what He wants to tell me for the day?

 For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.    – Romans 1:16

I take pride in my team because they are No. 1 in the country and, more importantly, are solid on the defensive end. Well, Jesus comes to earth and goes to work telling people about his Father despite their hatred. He dies and then kicks death in the face by rising from the grave.  I mean, Brittney Griner’s two-handed slam against Georgia Tech was awesome, but Jesus has her beat. So why have I not brought that up in conversation?

I always say that I hope people can tell I’m a Christian by the way I live my life, but that is not enough.  Speaking truth to people is what I’ve been called to do according to Ephesians 4:1-2,5.

I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingdom: preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching…As for you, always be sober-minded, endure suffering, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.

This week I pray that God becomes a part of my daily conversations.  I pray that He works through me to bring courage and boldness when I fear the response I may get.

Who am I to keep Him to myself?

His gift of salvation is so much more than a national championship will ever be.

 

Leave a Reply

