Weary

Y’all. I am tired. I am weary. I am worn out. I am fatigued. I am whatever other words are synonymous to exhausted. Tonight has been a battle between my bed and my Bible. I compromised; I’m sitting in my bed reading my Bible. When I opened it, I was reminded of Matthew 11:28:

Come to me all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Alright. That sounds good to me.  Usually I just look at that verse and interpret it how I wish, but I read further.  It talks about a yoke and is kind of confusing.  I looked it up in The Message:

Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me, and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.

This passage is not about desperately needing caffeine to make it through the day.  It is not about all the homework your professors decide to give that will be due on the same day.

It paints a beautiful picture of grace. Often we try so hard to gain righteousness by our own words, chasing perfection but never quite catching it. This unattainable standard we set our sights on is killing us.

God says, “Come to me.” He does not say to fix certain things about yourself. There is no condition to your approach. Just go! When it says “get away,” I think of the beach, walking with my Redeemer on the shore as the sun is setting.  An escape with Him is where things are put back into perspective. He offers to walk you through things. His directions are found in the Word.

I like the phrase “unforced rhythms of grace.” Think about what happens when you’re alone in your room and your favorite song comes on your iTunes. You bust a move. Man, these unforced rhythms just come naturally, and you don’t really try at them either. You just let go. Let go and let God.

Back in the ESV, verse 30 says, “For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” A yoke is a wooden frame used for pulling heavy loads. It was used as a metaphor for one person’s subjection to another. For the Pharisees, their extensive list of laws that had to be kept were a crushing burden; however, Jesus’ yoke of discipleship brings rest through simple commitment to Him.

So, run to Him. Cast the burden of perfection from your shoulders and put on His yoke of discipleship. His grace is something to rest in.

Leave a Reply

