Effort

Today in my HP, I had a group presentation. We created a workout for the class to do that consisted of toning stations and a scavenger hunt all over campus. Five minutes after we sent them outside, it started raining. Whoops. We told them they could come back inside if it started to rain, but they didn’t want to. After twenty minutes I went outside and herded them back into the gym for the toning stations. We told them what to do and showed them examples of what the different exercises looked like. As we watched them, it was pathetic. There was no effort what-so-ever.

Being a super competitive person, I was frustrated. Why would you sign up for an HP and not work to get stronger?

And that’s when Jesus thumped me on the head. Why would I accept Him and not get in the Word? He has given me instructions and examples yet my output is pathetic. There’s little effort.

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men.  – Colossians 3:33

What is holding me back? Just accepting Him yet doing nothing is like me putting on a Baylor basketball jersey and acting like I would be playing with them in Denver. Wrong.

Be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.  – James 1:22

Look at March Madness. Every team plays hard or its season is over. The next round is not promised. They don’t just listen to what the coach calls and think it’s a good play; they go out and execute it. 

Why do I take His commands and discuss them with others rather than put them into action? My effort is lacking. He has given me examples of how to do it through the life of His son. The Bible is also busting with people who didn’t do it right. Learn from them.

There should be nothing holding me back. Tomorrow is not promised. Go hard or go home.

Leave a Reply

