Power

In sociology today, the question was asked, “Who has power?” The instructor flashed a picture of Quincy Acy throwing down a monster jam on the screen. I agree. Quincy not only has power above the rim but also off the hardwood. The way he has led this season’s team, been a role model to kids and a great father to his son, Austin, have all been testaments to the power he has had.

Power: ability to do or act

When Jesus ascended into heaven, the Holy Spirit was given to those who believed.  Acts 1:8 presents His last words to the disciples before He was lifted up on a cloud and taken out of sight.

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.

Power. Little, ol’ me will receive power. To do the will of my Father. Will my power ever be to throw it down like Quincy? Probably not, unless the goal is 6’. But this power will enable me to proclaim the name of my Redeemer, through my words and actions, to everyone I see.

Leave a Reply

