Ruth

Later this afternoon I will be on my way to Denver to cover the NCAA women’s Final Four. There I will be surrounded by ESPN and the likes of Holly Rowe, Lisa Leslie, Carolyn Peck, Rebecca Lobo…you get the point. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to go and learn from women who are successful in the sports’ world. 

Being a woman in this field has been a difficult obstacle for those in years past. However, biased from the male audience still exist…like my grandpa. It is almost impossible to watch sports at their house because he criticizes the women reporting on the sideline. His favorite sport to watch is hockey (I think because there are no women reporters.) Being a successful woman in sports is my dream but more importantly,  I want to be known as a woman of God.

Proverbs 31:10-31 describes the characteristics of a godly woman.  This virtuous woman is personified by Ruth.

 

Devoted to her family – Ruth 1:15-18/Prov. 31:10-12,23

Delighting in her work – Ruth 2:2/Prov. 31:13

Diligent in her labor – Ruth 2:7,17,23/Prov. 31:14-18,19-21,24,27

Dedicated to godly speech – Ruth 2:10,13/Prov. 13:26

Dependent on God – Ruth 2:12/Prov. 31:25,30

Dressed with care – Ruth 3:3/Prov. 31:22,25

Discreet with men – Ruth 3:6-13/Prov. 31:11,12,23

Delivering blessings – Ruth 4:14,15/Prov. 31:28,29,31

 

Reading this book, I got to see what God desires from me to be a virtuous woman. More importantly, the Gospel was revealed.

Ruth was a Moabite. Moab was the enemy of Israel. She arrived in Bethlehem as a foreigner, became a maidservant, married wealthy Boaz, and discovered herself in the physical lineage of Christ.

Basically, she married Naomi’s son, Mahlon. He, along with his brother and father, died in a famine that struck Moab. While her sister-in-law returned to her family, Ruth clung to Naomi, which was a sign of loyalty and devotion. They returned to Bethlehem. Naomi insisted on being called Mara because she was bitter. She viewed her suffering as punishment from the Lord; however, her troubles would provide the means to God’s bounty. She sent Ruth out to the fields to glean, and Ruth wound up in Boaz’s field.  God’s providence was shown in that action. Naomi began to understand God’s sovereign working because Ruth was not led by human direction to Boaz. Later, Ruth went down to Boaz at the threshing floor and proposed marriage. After checking with a relative closer than he, Boaz took Ruth as his wife. They had a son, Obed, who would father Jesse, the father of David.

In all this, Boaz is the redeemer. He was a man of valor, never married or was a widower. He provided for Ruth and took her as his wife despite the fact that she was a Moabite.

Then she fell on her face, bowing to the ground, and said to him, “Why have I found favor in your eyes, that you should take notice of me, since I am a foreigner?”       Ruth 2:10

Despite my past and being born an enemy of God, He chose me to be His and spend eternity with Him. I pray the joy of this truth shines through me as God plans my steps for the future.

 

One thought on “Ruth

  1. Amanda says:

    I love your heart, Krista! Have so much fun in Denver!!

Leave a Reply

