Lean on Me

I’m a very independent person; a trait that has both its strengths and its weaknesses.  For starters, it brings good work ethic and confidence wherever I go. For example, when I come back from the grocery store, I don’t need anyone’s help with the bags because I will carry them all into the house on my own. Its weaknesses, however, can downplay the pros…especially when it comes to carrying burdens.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

My problem is that I think that I can fix it all on my own, so why should I go? It would be a lot easier on everyone else if I just grit my teeth and finish out the hard parts. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?

When struggles hit, I want to put on a face so that those around me think everything is okay. I don’t want to be seen as weak. I have to always have it together.

Yeah, yeah, I know this is dumb. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 talks about God being strong in my weaknesses. But, it is easier said than done.  

However, God wants me to lean on Him.

“You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.

What does the word trust mean? It means to lean on, to place the weight of my confidence on.

This means that all of my confidence, not just some of it, should be placed upon the Father. It is not weak to lean upon the Lord. 

Amy Carmichael put it this way:

My Father, You welcome me into your presence – and that’s a wonder in itself. More than I can imagine. Then You invite me to lean against You … and a bolt of self-reliance in me resists. But I want to trust You. To relax the weight of my fears and anxieties against You. To rest, to know how fully trustworthy You are. Help me, Father. 

 

Leave a Reply

