Superman

 

Fun fact about Krista: Superman is my favorite superhero. Why? Well first off, he has my job. Secondly he just seems to me the epitome of superheroes. I just laid on my couch and watched three straight episodes of the 90’s show Lois and Clark: the New Adventures of Superman. When I was little, I would watch it with my family. Funny moment: we went on a mission trip to Montana and we went by a place where Louis and Clark and SacaJawea went, but I thought it was Superman Lois and Clark. Needless to say, I was pretty confused. Anyway, back to superheroes. 
Think about the big movies that came out this summer. The Avengers, Spiderman and Batman. What do all three have in common? They’re all superhero movies. Cool, Krista. What’s your point?
People of America, this is solid proof that we were all created with a want to be saved.
“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through Him.” – John 3:16-17
Continuing on with Superman and biblical ties, let’s take a look at his names. First off, he has three (cough cough, Trinity, cough cough.) His alien name, Kal El, is actually Hebrew for “voice of God.” His human name is Clark Kent. Kent is Hebrew for “I have a son” which can be taken to Greek which means ” Krista” (that’s what’s up) which slipped right on through to English means “Christ.”
Another fun fact about him is that he is adopted. 
“And when his parents saw him, they were astonished. And his mother said to him, ‘Son, why have you treated us so? Behold, your father and I have been searching for you in great distress.” And he said to them, ‘Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?'” – Luke 2:48-49
Boom roasted.
Now let’s take a look at Lois Lane. She goes hard in the paint (1 Corinthians 9:24-27) on a daily basis to do her job to the best of her abilities. However, once she develops a relationship with Superman, she becomes more risky, recklessly abandoning her safety because she is confident that Superman will save her. She doesn’t worry about being perfect or sideline herself because she may not come out unscathed. She understands that perfection doesn’t exist and she gives her all in everything she does.
“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” – 2 Corinthians 12:9-10
It’s pretty crazy how an evening on the couch and a television show can point so clearly to the Father.
However, the important thing to take away from this is that God has no kryptonite.
“And the devil who had deceived them was thrown into the lake of fire and sulfur where the beast and false prophet were, and they will be tormented day and night forever and ever.” – Revelation 20:10
One thought on “Superman

  1. Paul McQuerry says:

    You make me proud with all the Superman talk. Good job.

Leave a Reply

