Fantasy Football

So, I’m in a fantasy football league with the guys I work with at the Lariat.  Am I any good? (I know that question was exploding in your brain.)

Nope.

My autodraft gave me Tony Romo for a quarterback, so naturally I go and pick up Tim Tebow as my back-up. (But I’m not thrilled with my starter.)  I have some good players, but my team is, by no means, jacked.  Obviously, the bros have noticed this and have offered me trades.  For example, they have offered me trash for Victor Cruz.  No worries…of course I rejected that offer.  Shoot, you better give me a solid starting quarterback, another wide receiver and a package of Oreos for that deal to go down.

Earlier today, I had my phoneon Pandora and this song by Tenth Avenue North came on:

I give You all of me for all You are
Here I am
Take me apart

 

Think about that.  I have been given the righteousness of Christ while he got my nasty, dirty, sinful self.  That’s like me trading you a third string center for Peyton Manning.  Man, it doesn’t make sense!!

So many times we think we deserve God’s grace when in all actuality we don’t.  We deserve to be stuck with that third string lineman that won’t get us any winning numbers.  We deserve no good thing.

“BUT GOD shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. ” – Romans 5:8

We don’t have to wait for our center to make the starting job and go beast mode before God will accept it.  

It’s so crazy!! I deserve death, yet He gives me life.  So, in return, I should not live life unaffected.  I should live my life daily in honor of Him, letting His light shine to those around me.  What I want shouldn’t matter.  It’s all about His will and His glory.

“I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.”  – Romans 12:1

Leave a comment